Emerging Leader Award

Developing young leaders is critical to the future of AIA Potomac Valley. The Emerging Leader Award, introduced in 2018, will recognize the contributions and achievements of an individual member in good standing of the AIA Potomac Valley chapter who:

  • is either an Associate AIA member or an AIA Architect member who has been registered 10 years or less,
  • exemplifies the highest qualities of leadership, and
  • has demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to the AIA Potomac Valley chapter, to the design and construction industry, to the community, and/or to other professional organizations.

Individuals who are current members of the Chapter board or members of the Awards Committee are not eligible for this award until one year after their term of service ends.

Nominations are due by Monday, August 2, 2021 at 11:59 PM. The award will be presented at the chapter's annual design awards celebration in October.


2020 Emerging Leader Award Recipient


Maria Fernanda Farieta, Associate AIA, was honored during the 2020 AIAPV Design + Leadership Awards as the winner of the 2020 Emerging Leader award. Maria is a recent graduate of Montgomery College and UMD, where she achieved numerous honors, including winning the Frederick Douglass Scholarship and being selected as commencement speaker for her graduating class.

Maria is currently studying in the Master of Architecture and Community Planning program at UMD and is employed at Grimm + Parker. In her work, she has designed sustainable systems while enhancing a building’s presence in its neighborhood. Maria was selected as the recipient of the 2020 Emerging Leader Award for her creativity, ambition and commitment to excellence, tenacity in overcoming obstacles, and possessing a great passion for the profession. Maria embodies the qualities desired in the next generation of architects.

Learn about Maria's selection and view her acceptance speech by clicking the image below.
(Forward to time stamp: 46:15.)


2019 Emerging Leader Award Recipient – Malik Williams-Johnson

2018 Emerging Leader Award Recipient – Melissa R. Daniel