Opinions expressed in the AIAPV Blog do not necessarily reflect the policies or views of the Potomac Valley Chapter or its officers, directors or employees. Publication of member news, guest columns, commentary, notices, or event items in the Blog is not an endorsement of the news, commentary or announcement. AIA Potomac Valley does not take responsibility for, or any editorial position on, commentary, articles or news items submitted by its members or outside contributors. Any questions should be directed to the firm or author of the Blog piece.


Parker and Salmen Among 2017 Fellows

The 2017 Jury of Fellows from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) elevated 178 AIA members to its prestigious College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the profession. Please help us congratulate AIA Potomac Valley Chapter members Steve Parker and John Salmen who are among the 2017 honorees!


Elevated in Category 2 - advanced the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training or practice:

Throughout his 44-year career, Steve Parker has advanced the practice of architecture through transformative community design and commitment to sustainability; by mentorship based on fostering collaboration and diversity; and by exemplifying service and philanthropy. Steve’s legacy has been to inspire, teach, and mentor others about the values and importance of civic design, advocacy and commitment to professional service.


Elevated in Category 5 - made the profession of ever-increasing service to society:

John Salmen has led the international Universal Design movement for over 40 years. He has shown architects and people around the world how universally designed spaces and devices support and empower people of all abilities. For people, around the world, he has transformed the “problem” of regulatory accessibility into an “opportunity” for Universal Design.

The Fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession.  Election to fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of architects as individuals, but also their significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level. The 2017 Fellows will be honored at an investiture ceremony at the AIA Conference on Architecture in Orlando, Florida. View the full list of 2017 Fellows, including many others in the Mid-Atlantic area.

Steve and John join the following distinguished members of the Potomac Valley Chapter who have achieved Fellowship:

Ralph Bennett, FAIA
Fernand W. Dahan, FAIA
Eugene A. Delmar, FAIA
Panayotis E. DeVaris, FAIA
John P. Eberhard, FAIA
Thomas N. Eichbaum, FAIA
Carl Elefante, FAIA
David A. Holtz, FAIA
Diane J. Hoskins, FAIA
John C. Loss, FAIA
Mark C. McInturff, FAIA
Garth Rockcastle, FAIA
John F. Torti, FAIA
Michael D. Watkins, FAIA
John C. Wilmot, FAIA

Return to list