Kea Medal

KeaMedal-300x300The Paul H. Kea Medal recognizes professionals, volunteers and other colleagues whose efforts have increased the public’s awareness of the role of architecture in our lives.

About Paul H. Kea, FAIA

Kea (1886-1968) began practicing architecture in 1912, moved to Hyattsville, Maryland, and founded the firm Kea, Shaw, Grimm & Crichton, a precursor to today’s Grimm + Parker Architects. His firm built numerous banks, churches, schools and commercial buildings.

A founding member of AIA Potomac Valley, Kea served as President of the Maryland Society of Architects and became a Fellow of the AIA in 1960. He served as President of the Prince George’s Chamber of Commerce and served on numerous church committees and community boards. He took a strong interest in architectural education and funded a Distinguished Professorship at the University of Maryland.

The Kea Medal is named in his honor, to recognize architects or non-architects in related fields who have made a significant and exemplary contribution to the profession, either through a body of work or a single contribution of great scope. Chapter members are welcome to submit nominations to the selection committee for review, in these categories: a) Service to the Profession; b) Leadership; or c) Architectural Advocacy that has furthered the public’s awareness or appreciation of design excellence.

Paul H. Kea Medal Recipients


Medal for Architectural Advocacy

Carlo Colella, LEED AP

Medal for Leadership and Service to the Profession

Carl Elefante, FAIA


Medal for Leadership

Samuel J. Parker, JR., AICP

Medal for Architectural Advocacy

John A. Carter, AIA


Medal for Leadership and Architectural Advocacy

Dr. Royce Hanson, former chairman of Montgomery County, Maryland Planning Board, Department of Planning


Medal for Architectural Advocacy

Rollin B. Stanley, Director, Montgomery County, Maryland, Department of Planning

Medal for Leadership and Service to the Profession

John M. Maudlin-Jeronimo, FAIA


Medal for Leadership

John Torti, FAIA, Principal, Torti Gallas and Partners

Medal for Service to the Profession

William Bechhoefer, Professor, University of Maryland

Medal for Architectural Advocacy

Eliot Pfanstiehl, President & CEO, Strathmore Music Center


Medal for Leadership

Marshall Purnell, FAIA, Former AIA President

Medal for Service to the Profession

John P. Salmen, AIA, Universal Design Leader

Medal for Architectural Advocacy

Douglas M. Duncan, Former Montgomery County Executive


Medal for Architectural Advocacy

Karl F. G. Du Puy

Medal for Leadership

Steven W. Hurtt, AIA

Medal for Service

Steven J. Karr, AIA


Medal for Service

Daniel W. Bennett, Jr, AIA

Medal for Architectural Advocacy

Richard G. Hawes

Medal for Leadership, Service to the Profession, and Architectural Advocacy

Stephen L. Parker, AIA


Medal for Leadership

Ralph D. Bennett, AIA

Medal for Service to the Profession

John F. Corkill, Jr., AIA

Medal for Architectural Advocacy

Roger K. Lewis, FAIA

Upcoming Events

Tue 11

Firm Tour XI – Edifice Solutions

August 11 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Thu 17

Munch & Learn

September 17 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

Sign Up for Email Newsletter

Contact Us!
3907 Metzerott Road
College Park, MD 20740