Committees

Leading or serving on an AIAPV committee is a great way to get more out of your membership while helping to advance the interests of architecture in our area. We encourage you to explore our committees, get in touch with the committee chairs to discuss how you can bring your energy and expertise to their work, and get involved!

ADVOCACY AND OUTREACH COMMITTEE

Chair: Eileen Emmet | eileen.emmet@aiapv.org
Board Liaison: Loreen Arnold | loreen.arnold@aiapv.org
Serves as liaison with government and industry officials, particularly in Montgomery County and Prince George’s County. Provides leadership and serves as a voice for the profession on issues affecting the public good, including the promotion of sustainable architecture. Supports and advocate for appropriate public policy.

AWARDS COMMITTEE

Board Liaison: David Cronrath | david.cronrath@aiapv.org
Oversees and conducts all chapter awards programs, including the Kea Medal and annual Design Awards. Oversees jury selection when AIAPV is requested to provide juries to other chapters. Plans the annual Design Awards presentation.

EMERGING PROFESSIONALS COMMITTEE

Chair: Matt Vargas | matt.vargas@aiapv.org
Board Liaison: Georgina Thibodeaux

Provides students of architecture, interns, and associate architects support, programs, and services that further their advancement in the field of architecture.

FINANCE COMMITTEE

Chair: Rob Wells | rob.wells@aiapv.org
Board Liaison: Tom Nyein

Oversees chapter budget process and quarterly reporting to the board. Solicits financial support for chapter programs and operations while promoting chapter affiliation with vendors, service providers, and other allied professionals. Solicits financial support for architecture student scholarships and other charitable causes in partnership with the Potomac Valley Architecture Foundation.

PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

Chair: Kathleen O’Hearn | kathleen.ohearn@aiapv.org
Board Liaison: Wayne Broadfield III

Identifies professional development and continuing education opportunities for the delivery of knowledge, culture, understanding, and skills in order to enhance the architect’s ability to survive competitive challenges in business and the environment.
Small Practice Group: Provides dialogue, networking opportunities and programs for small practice architects in order to develop consensus on important issues and practices. Coordinator: Laurie Kawa, laura.kawa@aiapv.org

 Members of  AIA Potomac Valley also serve on joint/regional committees and initiatives as chapter representatives.

CRAN STEERING COMMITTEE

Chair: Helen Wilkes | helen.wilkes@aiapv.org
The 
Capital Area CRAN (Custom Residential Architects Network) is a tri-chapter initiative of AIA Potomac Valley, AIA DC, and AIA Northern Virginia. The Steering Committee plans programs and tours geared to residential architects, which take place bi-monthly. Each chapter hosts and provides continuing education credits for events on a rotating basis.

DESIGNDC  STEERING COMMITTEE

Representative: Wayne Broadfield III | wayne.broadfield@aiapv.org
The annual DesignDC educational conference is organized by a Steering Committee made up of representatives of DC-Baltimore region AIA components and other industry organizations.

Upcoming Events

  1. SPG: Consider Acoustics

    October 31 @ 8:15 am - 9:15 am
  2. AIAPV Annual Membership Meeting

    December 10 @ 5:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Join Our E-Mail List

* = required field

powered by MailChimp!

Contact Us!

info@aiapv.org
LEAFHouse
3907 Metzerott Road
College Park, MD 20740
301.935.5544