Committees

AIA Potomac Valley is recruiting bright, energetic leaders to take on and expand existing programs, and to launch exciting new programs. Look at the committee opportunities and choose a place to make difference!

ADVOCACY AND OUTREACH COMMITTEE

Chair: Eileen Emmet, AIA | eileen.emmet@aiapv.org
Board Liaison: Loreen Arnold, AIA | loreen.arnold@aiapv.org
Help us to build and strengthen relationships between the design community and the government and industry officials we work with on a daily basis. This is the place to bring issues in your county or local jurisdiction that the AIA should be monitoring or can help influence.

AWARDS COMMITTEE

Chair: Chris Morrison, FAIA | chris.morrison@aiapv.org
Board Liaison: David Cronrath, AIA | david.cronrath@aiapv.org

Chapter recognition is an important member benefit. We need member input on ways to expand and/or evolve our awards programs, and to broaden the appeal of the celebration event.

EMERGING PROFESSIONALS COMMITTEE

Chair: could this be you?
Board Liaison: Georgina Thibodeaux, Assoc. AIA

Committee members organize social networking events, help set up mentor/mentee connections, and strengthen communications with the chapter’s associate members. Seasoned architects are encouraged to join this committee to provide guidance and help with outreach to potential mentors.

FINANCE COMMITTEE

Chair: Rob Wells, AIA | rob.wells@aiapv.org
Board Liaison: Tom Nyein, AIA

The Finance Committee oversees responsible management of the chapter’s financial resources, to ensure the chapter can provide the benefits our members expect in both the short-term and the long-term. Experience with business management, nonprofit management, fundraising, accounting, or human resources would be valuable.

HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMITTEE

Chair: Scott Paden, AIA | scott.paden@aiapv.org
Board Liaison: TBD

This newly formed committee is working to raise awareness of the importance and value of historically significant existing buildings in the Potomac Valley region. Activities will include educating the membership on preservation theory and practice, as well as advocating publicly on preservation issues.

PROGRAMS/TOURS COMMITTEE

Chair: Kathleen O’Hearn, AIA | kathleen.ohearn@aiapv.org
Board Liaison: Wayne Broadfield III, AIA

If you can arrange one building tour or special interest program, this committee needs you! The committee meets infrequently but relies on can-do people who take an idea and run with it.
Small Practice Group: Provides dialogue, networking opportunities and programs for small practice architects in order to develop consensus on important issues and practices. We are looking for practitioners to volunteer to identify and arrange one or two of the monthly programs for the year. We’d also like a leader to spearhead two or three Small Practice Group meetings at LEAFHouse in Prince George’s County for 2015.Coordinator: Laurie Kawa, AIA laura.kawa@aiapv.org

 Members of  AIA Potomac Valley also serve on joint/regional committees and initiatives as chapter representatives.

CRAN STEERING COMMITTEE

Chair: Helen Wilkes, AIA | helen.wilkes@aiapv.org
The 
Capital Area CRAN (Custom Residential Architects Network) is a tri-chapter initiative of AIA Potomac Valley, AIA DC, and AIA Northern Virginia. The Steering Committee plans programs and tours geared to residential architects, which take place bi-monthly. Each chapter hosts and provides continuing education credits for events on a rotating basis.

DESIGNDC  STEERING COMMITTEE

Representative: Wayne Broadfield III, AIA | wayne.broadfield@aiapv.org
The annual DesignDC educational conference is organized by a Steering Committee made up of representatives of DC-Baltimore region AIA components and other industry organizations. Chapter representatives work throughout the year to help determine themes, speakers and content, and to help promote the event to the local design community.

Women In Architecture (WIA)

Liaison: Loreen Arnold, AIA | loreen.arnold@aiapv.org
We would like to expand our chapter’s support of regional programs developed by the AIA NOVA Women In Architecture Committee.

Upcoming Events

  1. AIAPV Annual Membership Meeting-Knight Hall Tour

    December 10 @ 5:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Join Our E-Mail List

* = required field

powered by MailChimp!

Contact Us!

info@aiapv.org
LEAFHouse
3907 Metzerott Road
College Park, MD 20740
301.935.5544