Share Button

Leading or serving on an AIAPV committee is a great way to get more out of your membership while helping to advance the interests of architecture in our area. We encourage you to explore our committees, get in touch with the committee chairs to discuss how you can bring your energy and expertise to their work, and get involved!


Chair: Eileen Emmet |
Serves as liaison with government and industry officials, particularly in Montgomery County and Prince George’s County. Provides leadership and serves as a voice for the profession on issues affecting the public good, including the promotion of sustainable architecture. Supports and advocate for appropriate public policy.


Chair: David Cronrath |
Oversees and conducts all chapter awards programs, including the Kea Medal and annual Design Awards. Oversees jury selection when AIAPV is requested to provide juries to other chapters.


Chair: Nancy Traibman Ip |
Promotes the value of quality architecture to the public. Celebrates the architectural profession and communicate the professional interests, achievements, and activities of AIAPV to members and affiliated professions. Oversees maintenance and presentation of all communications media, including website, social media, electronic news bulletins and printed promotional materials. Assists Executive Director with event announcements.


Chair: Helen Wilkes |
Capital Area CRAN (Custom Residential Architects Network) is a tri-chapter initiative of AIA Potomac Valley, AIA DC, and AIA Northern Virginia. The Steering Committee plans programs and tours geared to residential architects, which take place bi-monthly. Each chapter hosts and provides continuing education credits for events on a rotating basis.


Chair: Joseph Lai |
Provides students of architecture, interns, and associate architects support, programs, and services that further their advancement in the field of architecture.


Treasurer: Tom Nyein |
Budget Subcommittee: Oversees chapter budget process and quarterly reporting to the board.
Non-dues Revenue Subcommittee: Solicits financial support for chapter programs and operations while promoting chapter affiliation with vendors, service providers, and other allied professionals. Solicits financial support for architecture student scholarships and other charitable causes in partnership with the Potomac Valley Architecture Foundation.


(under Potomac Valley Architecture Foundation jurisdiction)
Chair: vacant

Coordinates maintenance and upkeep of LEAFHouse and its grounds. Facilitates the use of LEAFHouse for promoting awareness to the public and the building profession of the importance and benefits of sustainable design and of best practices in the profession for innovation and sustainability in design.


Chair: Kathleen O’Hearn |
Identifies professional development and continuing education opportunities for the delivery of knowledge, culture, understanding, and skills in order to enhance the architect’s ability to survive competitive challenges in business and the environment.
Design Awards Celebration Task Force: Plans the annual Design Awards presentation. Coordinator: Lisa London,
Small Practice Group: Provides dialogue, networking opportunities and programs for small practice architects in order to develop consensus on important issues and practices. Coordinator: Laurie Kawa,

*New committee or subcommittee in 2013


Rice U. Arch school


Birth of consciousness mural at Rice U engineering school



Upcoming Events

  1. Affordable Housing Exhibition and Awards Program DEADLINE

    April 18 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  2. Illuminating LED – A CRAN Seminar

    April 22 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
  3. Designing a Firm 2.0: Brand Engagement

    April 24 @ 6:15 pm - 8:15 pm

Join our E-Mail List

Don't miss a single great event or opportunity!
* = required field

powered by MailChimp!

Contact Us!

Renee Catacalos
Executive Director, AIA Potomac Valley
Executive Vice President, Potomac Valley Architecture Foundation
3907 Metzerott Road
College Park, MD 20740